RSS

Craigslist Online Fraud


NOTE: Please look below this report for comments by the company, individuals, employees, ex-employees and victims, if there are any. They may contain invaluable and important updates about this case.

We saw an automobile on Craigslist.com (2007 Toyota Camry XLE)for $4,995.00. After emailing the seller at croft552@hotmail.com that we were interested in purchasing the vechile, he (Graham Hughes) gave us instructions on how to use Ebaymotors to pay for the car. Not knowing that this was Fraud – I followed the instructions and wired the funds to an account at Wells Fargo account # 0904 4139 86 with the Agent name of Thomas Blumer. I was also instructed to fax the wire receipt to 1-831-299-9810. The seller’s address is: Graham Hughes 205 Barry Road West Point, NY 10996.

Not knowing that this site “Craigslist” was a fraudulent site that we saw the vechile on – I continued the process and wired the funds waited the 48 hours for the wire to reach Wells Fargo (per instructions) and then emailed back Ebay Motors to let them know that the wire was sent and faxed the confirmation to the above fax number. After receiving an email back from the seller that the wire was received and would be holding in an escrow account until I received the car, got it inspected and decided to keep it. I was to get on ebay motors let them know I wanted to keep the car and then they would release the funds to the seller. (The same way ebay handles their accounts)

After the 5th day of not receiving anything (NO CAR) and the contact had stopped with the seller – I had a feeling that this was fraud and I needed to reach out for help. Although I should have seen the red flags that started popping up – I couldn’t believe this was happening to me. Is there anything that you can do to help us get back our $4,995.00 from Wells Fargo?

Thanks,
Karen Kiple

This post was submitted by Karen Kiple.

1 Comments For This Post

  1. John Foley Says:

    I found this site by searching on the phone number (831)-299-9810. There is a person I work with that just had the same experience. He ordered a car via the internet, was sent an email with an “ebay motors” logo directing him to do the same thing. He was given a Wells Fargo bank with an account number and a name plus the directions of where to send the money:

    Wells Fargo, 10011 Washington Blvd, Culver City, CA 90032
    Acct Owner: Jef Terhorst
    Acct number: 5256 4594 95
    Routing: 121 000 248

    He sent the money at the end of March (March 27 … I think) and has not heard anything since … and never got the car. He sent $5900 for the car.

    The name of the seller was “James Palmer”; the account name is of the person who holds the money until the deal is done (account manager)”

    Any help would be apprecitated.

Leave a Reply